Referees released after Round of 16

According to various online sources, FIFA released the following referees after the Round of 16: Ravshan Irmatov (UZB), Mohammed Abdulla (UAE), Bakary Gassama (GAM), Ghead Grisha (EGY), Joel Aguilar (SLV), Enrique Caceres (PAR), Wilmar Roldan (COL), Felix Brych (GER), Sergei Karasev (RUS), Szymon Marciniak (POL), Clement Turpin (FRA). Although not yet confirmed by FIFA, it is implied that Brych (photo) and Marciniak refused VAR intervention in Switzerland – Serbia and, respectively, Germany – Sweden, resulting in critical and important errors. All support officials were also released, along with VARs Abdulrahman Al-Jassim (QAT), Gerry Vargas (BOL) and Tiago Martins (POR).