Video Assistant Referees appointed for FIFA World Cup 2018

The FIFA Referees Committee has selected 13 referees who will act solely as video assistant referees (VARs) during the 2018 FIFA World Cup Russia. The selection criteria for these VARs were primarily based on their experience as video match officials in their respective association and confederation competitions, in addition to their successful participation in several preparatory seminars and FIFA competitions, where they enhanced their VAR knowledge and skills by using the system. Each match at the 2018 FIFA World Cup Russia will have a VAR together with three assistants, AVAR1, AVAR2, AVAR3 (for more information about the different roles and tasks of the VAR team please check In addition to these 13 referees who will act solely as video assistant referees, some of the referees and assistant referees who have been selected for the 2018 FIFA World Cup Russia (see list published on 29 March 2018) will also act as video match officials during FIFA’s flagship competition. These appointments will be confirmed before each match. (Source: FIFA)

Video Assistant Referees

1. Abdulrahman Al Jassim (QAT, 1987)

1. Wilton Sampaio (BRA, 1981)
2. Gery Vargas (BOL, 1981)
3. Mauro Vigliano (ARG, 1975)

1. Bastian Dankert (GER, 1980)
2. Artur Dias Soares (POR, 1979)
3. Pawel Gil (POL, 1976)
4. Massimiliano Irrati (ITA, 1979)
5. Danny Makkelie (NED, 1983)
6. Tiago Martins (POR, 1980)
7. Daniele Orsato (ITA, 1975)
8. Paolo Valeri (ITA, 1978)
9. Felix Zwayer (GER, 1976)