Ramos and Chenard awarded CONCACAF Referees of the Year 2016

The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) announced the winners for the annual CONCACAF Awards. In an equally-weighted vote among Member Association women’s and men’s national team coaches/captains, media and fans, Cesar Ramos (Mexico) and Carol Anne Chenard (Canada) won the CONCACAF Referee of the Year honours. For the first time on the men's side, both referees and assistant referees were nominated for these awards.

CONCACAF Male Referee of the Year
1. Cesar Ramos (Mexico)
2. Joe Fletcher (Canada, Assistant Referee)
3. Joel Aguilar (El Salvador)

CONCACAF Female Referee of the Year
1. Carol Anne Chenard (Canada)
2. Quetzalli Alvarado (Mexico)
3. Kimberly Moreira (Costa Rica, Assistant Referee)

The CONCACAF Awards are designed to honor the year’s outstanding performers and achievements in confederation-sanctioned competitions involving national teams at all levels and age categories, including FIFA World Cup matches and qualifying for both genders. Performances also eligible for recognition included those achieved in professional club football leagues within the Member Associations, as well as the Champions League.