FIFA World Cup 2014

The FIFA Referees Committee, meeting in Zurich on 14 January 2014, under the chairmanship of Jim Boyce (Northern Ireland), has appointed 25 referee trios and eight support duos representing 43 different countries for the 2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil. FIFA has implemented a comprehensive program to ensure that the referees for its flagship competition are in peak condition come 12 June. Just as it did for the 32 participating teams, the road to the 2014 FIFA World Cup began for an initial group of 52 trios of referees from all over the world in September 2011 when FIFA took the important decision to create a refereeing project. One of the key objectives was match control and consequently to prepare this group of prospective referees for the 2014 FIFA World Cup. The referees selected for the World Cup in Brazil have been chosen based especially on their personality and their quality in football understanding by being able to read the game and the teams’ tactical approaches towards each game. Between now and the World Cup, the selected group of match officials will participate in three seminars: February, March/April, and the last one ten days before the kick-off of the 2014 FIFA World Cup. The selected referees and assistant referees will be followed and monitored regularly during this period, and FIFA is ready to give them all the support they need so that they can prepare for this important World Cup in the best possible manner. (Source: FIFA)


AFC (4 trios + 1 support duo)
Referee: Ravshan Irmatov (UZB, 1977)
Assistant Referee 1: Abduxamidullo Rasulov (UZB, 1976)
Assistant Referee 2: Bakhadyr Kochkarov (KGZ, 1970)

Referee: Yuichi Nishimura (JPN, 1972)
Assistant Referee 1: Toru Sagara (JPN, 1976)
Assistant Referee 2: Toshiyuki Nagi (JPN, 1971)

Referee: Nawaf Shukralla (BAH, 1976)
Assistant Referee 1: Yaser Abdulla (BAH, 1974)
Assistant Referee 2: Ebrahim Saleh (BAH, 1974)

Referee: Benjamin Williams (AUS, 1977)
Assistant Referee 1: Matthew Cream (AUS, 1975)
Assistant Referee 2: Hakan Anaz (AUS, 1969)

Reserve Referee: Alireza Faghani (IRN, 1978)
Reserve Assistant Referee: Hassan Kamranifar (IRN, 1972)

CAF (3 trios + 2 support duos)

Referee: Noumandiez Doue (CIV, 1970)
Assistant Referee 1: Songuifolo Yeo (CIV, 1970)
Assistant Referee 2: Jean-Claude Birumushahu (BDI, 1972)

Referee: Bakary Gassama (GAM, 1979)
Assistant Referee 1: Evarist Menkouande (CMR, 1974)
Assistant Referee 2: Felicien Kabanda (RWA, 1971)

Referee: Djamel Haimoudi (ALG, 1970)

Assistant Referee 1 Redouane Achik (MAR, 1972)
Assistant Referee 2: Abdelhak Etchiali (ALG, 1981)

Reserve Referee: Neant Alioum (CMR, 1982)
Reserve Assistant Referee: Djibril Camara (SEN, 1983)

Reserve Referee: Daniel Bennett (RSA, 1976)
Reserve Assistant Referee: Marwa Range (KEN, 1977)

CONCACAF (3 trios + 2 support duos)
Referee: Joel Aguilar (SLV, 1975)
Assistant Referee 1: William Torres (SLV, 1975)
Assistant Referee 2: Juan Zumba (SLV, 1982)

Referee: Mark Geiger (USA, 1974)
Assistant Referee 1: Sean Hurd (USA, 1971)
Assistant Referee 2: Joe Fletcher (CAN, 1976)

Referee: Marco Rodriguez (MEX, 1973)
Assistant Referee 1: Marvin Torrentera (MEX, 1971)
Assistant Referee 2: Marcos Quintero (MEX, 1973)

Reserve Referee: Roberto Moreno (PAN, 1970)
Reserve Assistant Referee: Eric Boria (USA, 1974)

Reserve Referee: Walter Lopez (GUA, 1980)
Reserve Assistant Referee: Leonel Leal (CRC, 1976)

CONMEBOL (5 trios + 1 support duo)
Referee: Enrique Osses (CHI, 1974)
Assistant Referee 1: Carlos Astroza (CHI, 1976)
Assistant Referee 2: Sergio Roman (CHI, 1969)

Referee: Nestor Pitana (ARG, 1975)
Assistant Referee 1: Hernan Maidana (ARG, 1972)
Assistant Referee 2: Juan Belatti (ARG, 1979)

Referee: Sandro Ricci (BRA, 1974)
Assistant Referee 1: Emerson De Carvalho (BRA, 1972)
Assistant Referee 2: Marcello Van Gasse (BRA, 1976)

Referee: Wilmar Roldan (COL, 1980)
Assistant Referee 1: Humberto Clavijo (COL, 1973)
Assistant Referee 2: Eduardo Diaz (COL, 1973)

Referee: Carlos Vera (ECU, 1976)
Assistant Referee 1: Christian Lescano (ECU, 1983)
Assistant Referee 2: Byron Romero (ECU, 1980)

Reserve Referee: Victor Carrillo (PER, 1975)
Reserve Assistant Referee: Rodney Aquino (PAR, 1984)

OFC (1 trio + 1 support duo)
Referee: Peter O’Leary (NZL, 1972)
Assistant Referee 1: Jan Hintz (NZL, 1976)
Assistant Referee 2: Ravinesh Kumar (FIJ, 1982)

Reserve Referee: Norbert Hauata (TAH, 1979)
Reserve Assistant Referee: Mark Rule (NZL, 1981)

UEFA (9 trios + 1 support duo)
Referee: Felix Brych (GER, 1975)
Assistant Referee 1: Mark Borsch (GER, 1977)
Assistant Referee 2: Stefan Lupp (GER, 1978)

Referee: Cuneyt Cakir (TUR, 1976)
Assistant Referee 1: Bahattin Duran (TUR, 1975)
Assistant Referee 2: Tarik Ongun (TUR, 1973)

Referee: Jonas Eriksson (SWE, 1974)
Assistant Referee 1: Mathias Klasenius (SWE, 1975)
Assistant Referee 2: Daniel Warnmark (SWE, 1974)

Referee: Bjorn Kuipers (NED, 1973)
Assistant Referee 1: Sander van Roekel (NED, 1974)
Assistant Referee 2: Erwin Zeinstra (NED, 1977)

Referee: Milorad Mazic (SRB, 1973)
Assistant Referee 1: Milovan Ristic (SRB, 1974)
Assistant Referee 2: Dalibor Djurdjevic (SRB, 1973)

Referee: Pedro Proenca (POR, 1970)
Assistant Referee 1: Bertino Miranda (POR, 1972)
Assistant Referee 2: Jose Trigo (POR, 1972)

Referee: Nicola Rizzoli (ITA, 1971)
Assistant Referee 1: Renato Faverani (ITA, 1969)
Assistant Referee 2: Andrea Stefani (ITA, 1969)

Referee: Carlos Velasco Carballo (ESP, 1971)
Assistant Referee 1: Roberto Alonso Fernandez (ESP, 1976)
Assistant Referee 2: Juan Yuste Jimenez (ESP, 1975)

Referee: Howard Webb (ENG, 1971)
Assistant Referee 1: Michael Mullarkey (ENG, 1970)
Assistant Referee 2: Darren Cann (ENG, 1969)

Reserve Referee: Svein Oddvar Moen (NOR, 1979)
Reserve Assistant Referee: Kim Haglund (NOR, 1977)