CONCACAF Referee of the Year 2013: Rodriguez (MEX)

The CONCACAF Awards are designed to honor the year’s outstanding performers and achievements in confederation-sanctioned competitions involving national teams at all levels and age categories, including FIFA World Cup qualifying for both genders. Performances also eligible for recognition included those achieved in professional club football leagues within the CONCACAF Member Associations, as well as the CONCACAF Champions League. The votes of three important stake-holding segments within the Confederation were counted in compiling the results. Member Associations’ national team coaches/captains, accredited media and fans each accounted for one third of the final vote. A semi-final list of 10 nominees in each category was determined by a vote of Technical Directors from each of CONCACAF’s 41 Member Associations and the CONCACAF Technical Study Group, which analyzes tactics and rates performances at all official CONCACAF tournaments. All winners will be honored during individual ceremonies within the near future.

Referee of the Year 2013
1. Marco Rodriguez (MEX, photo)
2. Roberto Garcia (MEX)
3. Courtney Campbell (JAM)

In 2013, Rodriguez was entrusted with the responsibility of officiating many of CONCACAF’s biggest matches. He was in the middle for the memorable 2012-2013 CONCACAF Champions League final, second-leg encounter between Monterrey and Santos. Additionally, the 40-year-old refereed a pair of matches in each of the following competitions: FIFA U-17 World Cup, FIFA World Cup Qualifiers and CONCACAF Gold Cup.