IFAB: Clarifications of Laws 8 and 11

The 127th Annual General Meeting of the International Football Association Board (IFAB) will take place on Saturday, 2 March 2013, under the chairmanship of The Scottish FA in Edinburgh, Scotland. Amongst the items on the agenda, the IFAB will discuss a clarification to the interpretation of Law 11 – Offside, following proposals developed by FIFA’s Refereeing department and the IFAB technical sub-committee. Other topics for discussion include the usage of electronic performance monitoring systems; the Dropped Ball (Law 8 – Start and Restart of Play) following a submission by the Danish FA; as well as an update report on Goal-Line Technology following the implementation of two systems at the FIFA Club World Cup in Japan in December 2012. The IFAB will also discuss its future consultation and decision-making processes, as well as its future structure.

The main proposals and amendments on the agenda:

Law 8 – The Start and Restart of Play
Infringements and sanctions
If the ball enters the goal:
• if a dropped ball is kicked directly (not touched by another player) into the opponents’ goal, a goal kick is awarded
• if a dropped ball is kicked directly (not touched by another player) into the teams’ own goal, a corner kick is awarded to the opposing team"

Law 11 – Offside – Interpretation of the Laws of the Game
In the context of Law 11 – Offside, the following definitions apply:
- "interfering with play" means playing or touching the ball passed or touched by a team-mate
- "interfering with an opponent" means preventing an opponent from playing or being able to play the ball by clearly obstructing the opponent’s line of vision or challenging an opponent for the ball
- "gaining an advantage by being in that position" means playing a ball
(i) that rebounds or is deflected to him off the goalpost, crossbar or an opponent having been in an offside position
(ii) that rebounds, is deflected or is played to him from a deliberate save by an opponent having been in an offside position.
A player in an offside position receiving the ball from an opponent, who deliberately plays the ball (except from a deliberate save), is not considered to have gained an advantage.