UEFA Euro 2012 – Group Stage (Matches 1-4)

The match officials for the first four games of UEFA Euro 2012 have been announced, with Spain's Carlos Velasco Carballo taking charge of the tournament opener on Friday between co-hosts Poland and Greece. Howard Webb has been selected to referee the second match of the night between Russia and Czech Republic at the Municipal Stadium Wroclaw, kick-off 20.45CET. The Netherlands against Denmark at the Metalist Stadium in Kharkiv on Saturday 9 June, kick-off 18.00CET, will be officiated by Damir Skomina. Stephane Lannoy was appointed to referee the game between Germany and Portugal at the Arena Lviv also on Sunday, kick-off 20.45CET. The officials for the matches 5-8 will be announced on Thursday 7 June at 09.30CET. Officials for matches 9-12 will be announced on Sunday 10 June at 09.30CET, for matches 13-16 on Tuesday 12 June at 09.30CET, for matches 17-20 on Thursday 14 June at 09.30CET, and for matches 21-24 on Saturday 16 June at 09.30CET.
In total, 12 referees have been appointed to handle the 31 matches of the final tournament. They will work together with 24 assistant referees and 24 additional assistant referees in teams of the same nationality. After the successful ongoing experiment in the use of additional assistant referees in the UEFA Champions League and UEFA Europa League, for the first time in the history of the UEFA European Football Championship, referees will have added support. This is thanks to a decision by football’s lawmakers, the International Football Association Board (IFAB), to allow the continuation of the experiment. The referees’ team is joined by four appointed fourth officials, who will only act in this specific function. Additional assistant referees will also act as fourth officials. During the final tournament any injured referee will be replaced either by the fourth official or by the first additional assistant referee at the match, thanks to a permission granted by the IFAB.
8 June 2012
Poland – Greece

Referee: Carlos Velasco Carballo (ESP, photo)
Assistant Referee 1: Roberto Alonso Fernandez (ESP)
Assistant Referee 2: Juan Yuste Jimenez (ESP)
Additional AR 1: David Fernandez Borbalan (ESP)
Additional AR 2: Carlos Clos Gomez (ESP)
Fourth Official: Gianluca Rocchi (ITA)
Reserve AR: Renato Faverani (ITA)
Referee Observer: Pierluigi Collina (ITA)

Russia – Czech Republic
Referee: Howard Webb (ENG)
Assistant Referee 1: Michael Mullarkey (ENG)
Assistant Referee 2: Peter Kirkup (ENG)
Additional AR 1: Martin Atkinson (ENG)
Additional AR 2: Mark Clattenburg (ENG)
Fourth Official: Manuel De Sousa (POR)
Reserve AR: Bertino Miranda (POR)
Referee Observer: Herbert Fandel (GER)

9 June 2012
Netherlands – Denmark
Referee: Damir Skomina (SVN)
Assistant Referee 1: Primoz Arhar (SVN)
Assistant Referee 2: Matej Zunic (SVN)
Additional AR 1: Matej Jug (SVN)
Additional AR 2: Slavko Vincic (SVN)
Fourth Official: Pavel Kralovec (SVK)
Reserve AR: Roman Slysko (SVK)
Referee Observer: Kyros Vassaras (GRE)

Germany – Portugal
Referee: Stephane Lannoy (FRA)
Assistant Referee 1: Frederic Cano (FRA)
Assistant Referee 2: Michael Annonier (FRA)
Additional AR 1: Fredy Fautrel (FRA)
Additional AR 2: Ruddy Buquet (FRA)
Fourth Official: Marcin Borski (POL)
Reserve AR: Marcin Borkowski (POL)
Referee Observer: David Elleray (ENG)